Why?

Why would I turn away
From Gods love for me
Let’s ponder on this thought
What could the reasons be?

Perhaps that I’m not good enough
A love that must be earned
Wounds of childhood remain
Unwanted, I’d be spurned

That I’m not deserving
Not worthy of His love
Deep scars born of wounds
Discourage ways above

That I am too busy
I can do it all
I love the things I have
Don’t need another call

Those so called Christians are
Worst hypocrites I know
The pious, judgment casters
Point out wrongs they show

That God’s a man-made crutch
A fable of folk lore
Words of olden days
Religion such a bore

No one has story shared
How God has played a role
No one has cared enough
To help to fill the hole

Perhaps these thoughts may help
A prayer to change my way
To help a soul to see
Your love shine through today

Leave a Reply

