A Still, Small Voice

How ordinary be
The morning of this day
Coffee to awake
Planning of my way

Worldly voices start
Prove that you are good
You should be ashamed
I must be understood

No one really cares
Success you must now be
Power for to take
I’m popular you see

Let me prove my value
By list of things to do
Plan to buy my happiness
With more things to accrue

But underneath it all
A still, small voice now speaks
You are my beloved
Find it I must seek

In solitude of bond
A purpose set aside
To listen now in silence
My God and I abide

My value in my Lord
In humbleness of way
His love consumes completely
“My Beloved”, He does say

Based upon Bread for the Journey, by Henri J.M. Nouwen, ©1997 HarperSanFrancisco

Leave a Reply

