Anew

Taught to be responsible
To do it on my own
I can solve the problem
No direction need be shone

Prayers are filled with “shoulds”
I must lead the way
My deeds must all be better
And guard the words I say

I’m tired of it all
Of rules that frame my day
Of all my shoulds and shouldn’ts
As failure leads the way

Oh God, now I surrender
As I can’t do it on my own
Let me start anew this day
Let Your light be shown

Let my focus be Your love
That dwells in me this day
Let Your mercy be my joy
Your forgiveness leads my way

Let intents be good enough
Turning in to You
Let Your love flow out of me
My focus born anew

Leave a Reply

